Electric Prayer

The Liturgy of the Hours, the Mass, and other things.

Universalis on Android

Posted by universalis on 22 October 2012

A version of the Catholic Calendar application is now available for phones and tablets running Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) and above. It includes the full Universalis content for the whole of 2012. Please download it, try it out, and let us know what you think.

The app is available on Google Play. Because it contains the whole of Universalis for 2012, we’ve called it “Universalis 2012” rather than just “Catholic Calendar”.

Future developments

We will soon make the application available through the Amazon Appstore.

We will not be supporting versions of Android before 4.0.

We will release the paid-for Universalis app for Android before the end of 2012.

14 Responses to “Universalis on Android”

  1. George said

    Sorry to hear you won’t be supporting Gingerbread with the Android version. I hope you are able to reconsider this as most implementations of Android are with this version of the OS. I;ve been and will continue using the eBooks method of course, but would really like the ease of Andriod on my Gingerbread device

  2. Anonymous said

    It looks like those who paid for the licence already, will have to pay to get the paid-for android app. This is sad.

  3. Peter said

    I’d like to thank you for making this implementation and I’m sorry that there are no positive comments yet. As one who is jumping from iOS to Android thanks to the new connector & general price gouging, this has made the move that much more easy. Thanks again & God bless.

  4. Brian said

    I am happy to see the Android app available as well. I travel a bit and have used ebooks in the past. I do have a few questions about the new app. Will the app have a night mode? Will the app have a text to speech feature? I am in a community where older people find using the physical books difficult and this feature would be very good. We also use the Biennial Readings for the long readings in the morning prayer. Is there any plan to make that available through the service?

    Thanks,
    And keep up the great work.

  5. Anonymous said

    Here is a problem I have with the app, the same is true about creating ebook… I want to use 1) American version of Psalms in the Liturgy of the Hour and 2) Liturgical calendar for Poland… However, setting calendar for Poland sets my Psalms for some other version. Could you make the two independent, so that I could have Polish calendar and American Psalms?

  6. Thank you for your comments.

    1. I’ll think about a night mode.
    2. Does Android not have a text-to-speech feature built in? iOS does.
    3. There are no official biennial readings in the Office of Readings. Some publishers have printed a biennial cycle of First Readings but this has no official standing and it makes no sense in combination with the annual Second Readings, which are frequently commentaries on the matching First Reading. We have to wait for the Vatican to finish its work and give us the complete biennial readings, as promised in 1973.
    4. Universalis only offers the Grail psalms in the Liturgy of the Hours. The NAB option applies only to the readings (and psalms) at Mass.

  7. Mark said

    I have Universallis on my iPad and bought a Nexus a couple of weeks ago and was so pleased you now have the Android version. I have bought a registration code and it worked perfectly. I now have the full version on the Nexus and it is great. I can even take it to Mass as you have all the readings for Australia too and I am still getting used to the new Mass responses.

  8. Anonymous said

    I bought a code a long time ago when I was carrying a Palm Pilot. Will that code work or will I have to buy another? Also, if I can’t find that code, is there a way to recover it? I am now carrying an Android device.

  9. Fr Martin said

    Thank you for the Android version – I notice several advantages over using the e-book conversion in the Kindle app. But there is, perhaps, just one disadvantage – it would be helpful to be able to tap or swipe the screen to turn pages rather than having to scroll all the time. Perhaps an option for the future?

    Thanks again.

    • Yes I agree with Fr Martin – I would love to be able to turn pages by tapping, swiping or best of all by using the volume control on my Samsung Galaxy Note. A Reader called Mantano allows all this and more, but I do prefer your app. Congratulations on your wonderful project which I have used from its beginning and seen grow in every way. Happy Christmas.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
