Electric Prayer

The Liturgy of the Hours, the Mass, and other things.

New Windows download available

Posted by universalis on 1 September 2011

The new version of the Universalis program for Windows is now available for download.

It contains the new English translation of the Order of Mass, and various other improvements.

You will notice blue arrows on the right-hand side of some of the pages. These let you choose between various options. For instance:

  • Optional memorials: which saint (if any) you want to celebrate.
  • Invitatory psalm: which hour you want to precede with the Invitatory Psalm.
  • Daytime psalms: whether you want to use the psalms of the day or the complementary psalms.
  • Order of Mass: many options, such as the choice of Penitential Rite, Creed, and Eucharistic Prayer.

For the blind and partially sighted who are using a screen reader, blue arrows do not appear. Instead, all these options are selectable from the menu bar, in the new View menu.

The equivalent iPhone application will be updated soon: it has already been submitted to Apple. The Mac version of Universalis will be updated next week.

NOTE: As of Sunday 4 September, the downloadable program for Windows includes an option to create an e-book for the Order of Mass.

8 Responses to “New Windows download available”

  1. Just downloaded the update. Nicely done! Like the blue arrows making choices available. The inclusion of the Order of Mass is great. The text choices for the Day Hours flow much more smoothly. Congratulations on an update very well done!

    • David Litz said

      I downloaded the new Windows version. It is great to have the Order of the Mass. However, when I create an ebook (to load on my Nook), the Order of the Mass is not available. Is there something I missed there? Thanks! Keep up the good work!

      • David, use the “contact us” on the Universalis site. They’re very responsive to emails.

      • David did email and I did reply. Still, I may as well reply here.

        I do intend to include the Order of Mass in the e-books as well. However, it’s not quite as simple as it looks, because all those magic arrows that switch between Penitential Rites, between Eucharistic Prayers and so on, wouldn’t work in an e-book because e-book readers aren’t interactive in that sense.

        I want to finish getting the Order of Mass into all Universalis versions first – the Mac version still remains to be done – and then I’ll come back and sort out the e-books.

  2. Cathy Fasano said

    In some future upgrade, is there any possibility for an option to restore the “Glory Be…” to its traditional form in the US configuration? (It’s that way for all of the other configurations.) Also, for Compline, Americans are familiar with a particular translation of the Salve Regina as used in the Rosary. Would it be possible to substitute that one? Here is a site http://www.medjugorje.org/rosary.htm which has all of the Rosary prayers as used in the US, including the “Glory Be…” and “Hail Holy Queen…”

    Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

    Hail! Holy Queen, Mother of Mercy, our life, our sweetness and our hope. To you do we cry, poor banished children of Eve. To you do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears. Turn then, O most gracious advocate, your eyes of mercy towards us; and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of your womb, Jesus. O clement! O loving! O sweet Virgin Mary!

    Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God, that we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

  3. With “Glory”, I’m afraid you’re stuck. I much prefer “Glory be”, but when I had it that way, people were complaining that it didn’t match the books!

    I’ll look in to the question of the Salve Regina. Thank you for the link.

  4. Janet Clements said

    Yes, I too was looking forward to having the new version of Westminster Mass being availlable to use on my kindle and initially thought it must be me making some sort of mistake when it didn’t appear with the rest of the stuff in my kindle reading files: it might be useful to make it very much more clear that these new mass readings won’t transfer to kindle file type yet. As I thought it was my mistake, I removed and redownloaded the new version of the programme a couple of times, before I realised it couldn’t be me! In short it wasted quite a lot of my time misunderstanding about what could or could not be done with the new update. I look forward to when the new mass texts will become availlable for my kindle. Is it not possible to make an interim Word version of the new mass texts downloadable? Then I could email a Word document version to my kindle for interim usuage.

  5. Fr Martin said

    I welcome new facility to select a single daytime hour rather than daily scrolling through the Complementary Psalms. However, I normally use Universalis on a Blackberry device via Kindle reader, and as you point out, e-readers do not support such choices. I imagine most of us either use a single daytime hour or all three – ie we would not change from day to day. Would it not be possible, then, to make the choice available alongside “Fonts” Calendars” Translations” etc, so that e-reader conversions would follow the user’s preference? ( I have noted your comment elsewhere of “Blackberry Never!” in regard to possible future formats, so I imagine the Kindle will remain first choice for all Blackberry users).

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
