Electric Prayer

The Liturgy of the Hours, the Mass, and other things.

Amazon Kindle and Sony Reader

Posted by universalis on 27 July 2009

Ever since these devices came out, people have been asking when they will be able to read Universalis on them.

The basic problem is that neither the Kindle nor the Sony Reader is a programmable device: they are designed to read e-books and nothing else. And Universalis is not an e-book. An e-book is a digital file that contains every page you might ever want to read; Universalis is a program that synthesizes the pages you want, at the moment you ask for them.

Some people have suggested that we create and sell Universalis e-books for specific chunks of time – for instance, “Westminster July 2009” or “United States 2010” – on a subscription basis. We’ve gone one better than this: we’re allowing you to create your own e-books for your own private use.

You can read all about it on the  Universalis e-books page. Essentially, what you do is the following:

  1. Download and install the Universalis program for Windows.
  2. Go to the date that you want to create your e-book for.
  3. Choose “Save in ePub Format” for the Sony Reader or “Save in Mobipocket Format” for the Amazon Kindle.
  4. Choose the length of time you want your e-book to cover: “Today”, “This Week”, or “This Month”.
  5. Copy the newly created e-book to your reading device.

The e-books page also contains a sample one-week e-book in both ePub (Sony Reader) and Mobipocket (Amazon Kindle) format. Try it and see.

14 Responses to “Amazon Kindle and Sony Reader”

  1. Lawrence Pizzi said

    Thank you! I have often thought how great it would be to ave the Office on my Kindle. And now I do. It works perfectly! Great job! God bless!

    • Evelyn said

      Dear Lawrence – i am an old woman who knows only how to order and read from Kindle. how did you transfer the file to Kindle please? thank you.

      • Evelyn, I haven’t got a Kindle myself, but you can do something like this:

        1. Use the Universalis program to create the .mobi you want. Put the file somewhere obvious such as your desktop, so that you don’t have to go hunting for it.
        2. Plug your Kindle into one of your PC’s USB sockets. It will then appear to be an additional “disk drive” on your PC.
        3. Drag your .mobi file from the desktop to the appropriate folder inside the Kindle “disk drive”.
        4. Tell your PC to disconnect itself from your Kindle. This depends a bit on what version of Windows you are using. You may have a “Safely remove devices” button in your system tray, or you may find that if you right-click on the Kindle icon in Windows Explorer, you have an “Eject” item in the menu that pops up.

        This page on Amazon’s site goes into the details: you’ll need to scroll down to find “Transferring Files via USB”.

  2. dean said

    hi. any chance someone could port to symbian s60 5th ed? Big market for it. Cheers from Australia.

  3. almarose said

    I just want to thank you for your website. I am not Catholic, but I so greatly need discipline in my prayer life, and I have found it in the Divine Office. I have placed a link and introduction to your website on my prayer page, http://www.zgravweb.net/591prayers.html.Again, thank you from my heart for this wonderful service. –Mary Campbell, Omaha, Nebr.

  4. almarose said

    I just want to thank you for your website. I am not Catholic, but I so greatly need discipline in my prayer life, and I have found it in the Divine Office. I have placed a link and introduction to your website on my prayer page, http://www.zgravweb.net/591prayers.html. Again, thank you from my heart for this wonderful service. –Mary Campbell, Omaha, Nebr.

  5. Gaudeul said

    Thank you for the opportunity to place the Office in e-book form.
    However I experienced a difficulty. The outcome in mobipocket format seems to fail repeatedly when use with a mobipocket reader such as cybook.
    Frequently, the programme fails at the moment of turning a page and puts an end to the programme.
    Would there be a bug in mobigen ?

  6. Jim said

    I just tried this out on my new Barnes and Noble nook and it works just fine there also. Just follow the instructions from the Sony Reader area and put it into the documents folder on the nook. It works perfectly. Thanks!

  7. EdKeef said

    Thank you for the conversion utility “mobigen”.

    I converted the “trial version” of Universalis to a .mobi file and then renamed the .mobi file’s extension to .PRC

    That allowed um2009-xxx.prc to be used with the older mobireader (SEE: http://www.mobipocket.com/en/DownloadSoft/default.asp?Language=EN )

    The PRC version seems to work slightly better than the standard version of UNiversalis on my WinMobile 2003SE pda. The landscape view is better with MobiReader. I can change fonts more easily. I can highlight the text and add notes to the text. (Something you can’t YET do with the Kindle version of MobiReader. )

    Will register and try this tactic with the full version of UVS. Thanks.

  8. Cathy said

    Thank you so much for this wonderful service! Works great on my Kindle!

  9. Ron Jones said

    I have always been able to get Universalis on my NOOK from Barnes & Noble. Why is it you do not mention the NOOK device? I go into the Web page feature on NOOK and open the Universalis page. From there I can go anywhere on your site. It’s as easy as using my lap top at home. I can even bookmark your site.
    Will you please give the same mention to NOOK that you have to Kindle and Sony?

  10. jo said

    hi, can i create a month’s content in pdf or html document instead of epub or kindle book? I’m using Nokia symbian platform and can only read html document or pdf.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
