Electric Prayer

The Liturgy of the Hours, the Mass, and other things.

God’s mirth

Posted by universalis on 16 April 2009

So we sit perhaps in a starry chamber of silence, while the laughter of the heavens is too loud for us to hear… The tremendous figure which fills the Gospels… never concealed His tears. Yet He concealed something… He never restrained His anger… Yet He restrained something… There was something that He hid from all men when He went up a mountain to pray. There was something that He covered constantly by abrupt silence or imperious isolation. There was some one thing that was too great for God to show us when He walked upon our earth; and I have sometimes fancied that is was His mirth.

These are the closing words of G.K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy (Amazon UK/USA). I’ve remembered them for a long time and hunted through books fruitlessly, but then found them quoted in Timothy Radcliffe’s What is the Point of Being a Christian? (Amazon UK/USA) – for which I am very grateful.

2 Responses to “God’s mirth”

  1. joy said

    I do see God as absolutely having a great sense of humor. He always saves a big surprise for me, and answers me with turns of events I can only describe as hilarious. These are small things, like when my husband wanted our baby to be “anything but a redhead.” You can guess God’s punchline there. Many many times he has delivered the funniest punchlines ever!

  2. Rosie said

    I agree….I find some passages in the bible wonderfully comic in a beautiful very human way “For I know you are a stiff necked people” which is God talking in the OT though cannot remember the book etc…..he says about “stiff necked” people at least a couple of times….and dear Jesus saying about how the Pharisees were “straining gnats and have swallowed a camel!” etc…..

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
